A look back at the first Presidents’ Cup in 1994

The Presidents Cup, now in its 14th edition, was first launched in 1994.

The Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in Prince William County, Virginia was the host site for the first biennial competition between the 12 best golfers in America versus the 12 best golfers from around the world, excluding European nations.

The 38th President of the United States, Gerald Ford, was appointed Honorary President.

The captains of the team were Hale Irwin, who also played for the United States, and David Graham for the international team.

The United States won this inaugural event, 20-12. Davis Love third went 4-0-1 that week, while Fred Couples went 3-0. Jay Haas (3-2-0) and Jim Gallagher Jr. (3-1-1) also won three games for the United States.

The international team, who lost Greg Norman a few days before the competition due to illness, was led by Vijay Singh, who lost 3-1-1.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: