2022 World Cup Prizes: How Much Will Winners Earn? Portfolio, detailing teams and players in Qatar

There will be a lot of money at stake in the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar.

While the focus for most teams will be on lifting the iconic trophy and representing their nations well, there is certainly a tangible benefit to success on the pitch.

FIFA hasn’t held back when it comes to World Cup prize money in recent years, and 2022 is no different – with huge sums to grab.

Here, sports news Divide the prize money offered in Qatar and how much each team can win.

Total prize money for the 2022 World Cup

FIFA has allocated $440 million in prize money for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

This is an increase of $40 million over the 2018 tournament, while only $358 million in prize money was shown at the 2014 World Cup in Brazil.

While a very large sum, FIFA’s budget is $4.6 billion in 2022, with broadcasting rights set to contribute only $2.6 billion in income.

More: FIFA World Cup schedule complete | When will the English Premier League resume after the World Cup?

How much prize money will the 2022 World Cup winners get?

FIFA confirmed in April 2022 that the World Cup champions in Qatar would receive $42 million in prize money.

This is an increase of $4 million over 2018 and continues a trend that has seen winners’ pay packages increase dramatically over the past 40 years.

Prior to 2006, World Cup winning teams did not receive more than $10 million, with “only” 1982 champions Italy coming out with an estimated $2.2 million for their efforts.

In 2002 there was a big push from FIFA’s national teams to increase the prize money on offer, with increased World Cup revenue ensuring that these profits are distributed to successful teams.

year Prize money (in US dollars)
2022 $42m
2018 $38m
2014 $35 million
2010 $30 million
2006 20 million dollars
2002 $8m
1998 6 million dollars
1994 4 million dollars
1990 3.5 million dollars
1986 $2.8m
1982 $2.2m

How much money will each team earn in the 2022 World Cup?

With so many prize money on offer, every side will walk away from Qatar richer.

Just qualifying for the 2022 World Cup sees each team pay a participation fee of $1.5 million. But once you enter the tournament, the parties can make much larger sums by progressing through the knockout stages.

Based on the prize money distribution revealed by FIFA, reaching the semi-finals in Qatar will see teams win more than the 2006 World Cup winners.

2022 End Prize money (in US dollars)
group stage 9 million dollars
round of 16 $13m
Quarter-finals $17m
fourth place 25 million dollars
third place $27m
Second place $30 million
winner $42m

How much money do players win in the World Cup?

As an essential part of any successful team, players also benefit financially from participating in the World Cup.

While base salaries vary between national teams and different players, they do get a share of whatever prize money their team gets.

FIFA allows each team to set a player quota, and Germany has promised to give each of its players a bonus of close to $400,000 if they lift the title on their home soil in 2006.

In 2022, it was reported that Australia would pay each of its players A$226,000 with an additional $290,000 to be paid if they reached the knockout stages.

It is likely that other countries will offer a little more or less than this amount to their players, depending on the financial situation of each association.

How do the 2022 World Cup prize money compare to the 2023 Women’s World Cup?

FIFA previously announced that $60 million in total prize money will be available at the 2023 Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

While it is seven times less than what will be offered in Qatar 2022, it is double the estimated $30 million that was offered to women’s teams at the 2019 tournament.

That World Cup bid in and of itself was a doubling of the $15 million he apparently contributed to the 2015 Women’s World Cup in Canada.

ABC reported in July that FIFA may increase the prize money offered at the 2023 Women’s World Cup, citing the $100 million figure.

In May, the men’s and women’s teams in the United States agreed to share the combined prize money they had won at the 2022 and 2023 World Cups.

“This is a truly historic moment. These agreements have forever changed the game here in the United States and have the potential to change the game around the world,” said Cindy Barlow Cohn, president of American Football at the time.

“US Soccer, USWNT, and USMNT players have re-established their relationship with these new agreements and lead us into an incredibly exciting new phase of growth and mutual collaboration as we continue our mission to become the preeminent sport in the United States.”

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: