Larson leads the Quartet to green in Michigan

Brooklyn, Michigan – Kyle Larson will lead the Hendrick Motorsports squad to the green flag in the NASCAR Cup Series race on Sunday afternoon at Michigan International Speedway.

The 30-year-old Elk Grove, California, is set to start eighth in the 23rd points drive event of the 2022 season. In the final qualifying round,’s No. 5 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 driver clocked 188.605 mph.

Larson won three consecutive races at Irish Hills from August 2016 to August 2017. It is one of the two tracks where the Cup Series champion has had many victories.

Related: See the paint schemes this weekend

Point leader and four-time 2022 race winner Chase Elliott will start 13th in the ninth-placed UniFirst Chevrolet Camaro ZL1. William Byron will move to the grid from the 20th Liberty University #24 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1. Alex Bowman will line up for 30th in the 48th Chevrolet Camaro ally ZL1.

Bubba Wallace won first place in the 200 lap and 400 mile race on Sunday.

Elliott and Bowman placed in the top ten of drills from the combined group sessions and both drivers were in the top eight on the ten-lap averages board. Elliott, who was the 2020 Cup Series champion, finished second in his career three times on the track.

Michigan is one of two two-mile tracks on the schedule, with California’s Auto Club Speedway being the other. Byron doesn’t see many similarities between the two.

“I don’t think Auto Club (Speedway) is very similar now with the age of this deck compared to this,” said the two-time Cup Series winner in 2022 during pre-training media availability. “I think speed is probably the biggest similar thing, but there is a lot of throttling time here, and speeds are much higher. I don’t see a ton that can be transferred between the two, other than downforce, speed and consistency will become your biggest success factors.”

Related: Fast facts to know about Michigan

The Rick Hendrik-owned organization has won eight times and led 2,658 best laps in Michigan. Five drivers with facility victories in team history – this tag is tied to three other teams with the most different drivers to win by organization at this venue. Jeff Gordon has the team’s most wins three times, followed by Dale Earnhardt Jr. with two. Ricky Rudd, Mark Martin and Jimmy Johnson all won once in the Milan track.

In last year’s race at Brooklyn, Michigan, the four-car team came together to lead 156 of 200 laps. Larson drove 70 laps high, while Elliott led the field for 68 laps and Byron led 18 laps. Byron and Larson finished second and third, respectively, and Elliott scored a stage win. The 24th seed driver retained the lead late on before race winner Ryan Blaney overtook him at the start of the second half eight laps ago.

Tune in to watch the quartet of Hendrick Motorsports drivers go to Michigan for 200 laps Sunday at 3 p.m. ET on USA Network, MRN Radio and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio (Channel 90).

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: